Peace Research Institute Frankfurt

PRIF / HSFK (Germany)

The Peace Research Institute in Frankfurt (HSFK/ PRIF), member of the Leibniz Association, is the largest as well as the oldest peace research institute in Germany. Founded in 1970, PRIF´s work is directed towards carrying out research on peace and conflict, with a special emphasis on issues of arms control, non-proliferation and disarmament. With a total staff of approximately 80, PRIF researchers have a long-standing experience in political advice and consulting, having served, inter alia, in German delegations to NPT, CTBT, CWC, BWC, Ottawa Convention and SALW gatherings, in the UN Advisory Council on Disarmament Matters and in IAEA Expert Groups. Today, PRIF’s arms control division covers chemical, biological, nuclear and radiological weapons, small and light weapons, conventional weapons, drones, autonomous weapons, emerging technologies as well as mines and cluster ammunition.

Contact information

Hessische Stiftung Friedens und Konfliktforschung – PRIF / HSFK

Baseler Str. 27-31
D-60329 Frankfurt am Main

Tel: +49 (69) 95 91 04 – 0
Fax: +49 (69) 55 84 81
Website: http://www.hsfk.de/index.php?&L=1
Mail: info@hsfk.de

The team

ContactsResumeSpeciality
Una Becker-Jakob
Researcher
una.becker@hsfk.de
https://www.hsfk.de/en/staff/employees/una-becker-jakob/
  • Disarmament and non-proliferation of biological weapons
  • Disarmament and non-proliferation of chemical weapons
Prof. Christopher Daase
Deputy Director
daase@hsfk.de
https://www.hsfk.de/en/staff/employees/christopher-daase/
  • Theory of Arms Control
  • Coercive Arms Control
Dr. Caroline Fehl
Senior Researcher
fehl@hsfk.de
https://www.hsfk.de/en/staff/employees/caroline-fehl/
  • Multilateral arms control
  • Arms control institutions
  • US arms control policy
  • Nuclear non-proliferation
Aviv Melamud
Doctoral Researcher
melamud@hsfk.de
https://www.hsfk.de/en/staff/employees/aviv-melamud/
  • Nuclear non-proliferation
  • Nuclear weapons free zones
  • WMD free zone in the Middle East
Dr Annette Schaper
Senior Researcher
schaper@hsfk.de
https://www.hsfk.de/en/staff/employees/annette-schaper/
  • Nuclear arms control, disarmament, and non-proliferation
  • Fissile Material Cutoff Treaty
  • Verification of the dismantlement of warheads
Dr. Niklas Schörnig
Senior Researcherschoernig@hsfk.de
https://www.hsfk.de/en/staff/employees/niklas-schoernig/
  • Emerging technologies
  • Unmanned systems
  • (Lethal) Autonomous Weapon Systems (LAWS)
  • Conventional arms control
Dr Simone Wisotzki
Senior Researcher
wisotzki@hsfk.de
https://www.hsfk.de/en/staff/employees/simone-wisotzki/
  • Small arms and light weapons
  • Mines and cluster munition
  • Conventional arms trade
  • Security sector reform
  • Humanitarian Arms Control
  • Gender aspects in arms control
Dr. Carmen Wunderlich
Postdoctoral Researcher
wunderlich@hsfk.de
https://www.hsfk.de/en/staff/employees/carmen-wunderlich/
  • Arms control policy of Sweden and Iran
  • Nuclear disarmament/Nuclear Ban Treaty