SPEAKER AGENDA

 $All\ sessions\ (presentations\ and\ discussion)\ will\ be\ on\ the\ record$

FRIDAY 3 FEBRUARY 2012

Time	Session	Location
09:00 - 10:30	Registration and refreshments	Palace Ballroom
		Lobby
10:30 - 11:00	INTRODUCTION TO THE MEETING:	Palace Ballroom
	Mark Fitzpatrick, Director, Non-Proliferation And Disarmament Programme, IISS;	
	Vice Chair, EU Non-Proliferation Consortium	
	WELCOMING REMARKS:	
	Maciej Popowski, Deputy Secretary General, EEAS	
11:00 - 13:00	FIRST PLENARY SESSION: STRENGTHENING THE NPT	Palace Ballroom
	Chair: Harald Müller, Executive Director, PRIF; Vice Chair, EU Non-Proliferation	
	Consortium	
	Bogusław Winid, Ambassador, Under Secretary of State, Ministry of Foreign	
	Affairs, Poland	
	David Hannay, Joint Convenor, All-Party Group on Global Security and Non-	
	Proliferation, UK House of Lords	
	George Perkovich, Senior Vice President for Studies and Director, Nuclear Policy	
	Program, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace	
13:00 – 14:15	Lunch	Restaurant

13:00 - 14:15	Lunch	Restaurant
		Nouveau Taste

Simultane	Simultaneous Special Sessions (First Sitting): 14:15 – 15:45		
Session 1:	REDUCING BIO RISKS AND CW THREATS	Harmony	
Chair:	Clara Ganslandt, Chair of the CODUN Working Group, EEAS		
	Iris Hunger, Federal Information Centre for Biological Security, Robert Koch Institute		
	Jean Pascal Zanders, Senior Research Fellow, EU Institute for Security Studies		
	Patricia Lewis, Research Director, International Security, Chatham House		
Session 2:	SPACE AND MISSILE PROLIFERATION	Evasion /	
Chair:	Heinz Gärtner, Professor, Austrian Institute for International Affairs	Innovation	
	Sergio Marchisio, Chairman, European Centre for Space Law		
	Götz Neuneck, Deputy Director, Institute for Peace Research and Security Policy (IFSH),		
	University of Hamburg		
	Pavel Podvig, Director, Russian Nuclear Forces Project		
Session 3:	COMBATTING PROLIFERATION-RELATED CRIMES	Creativity /	
Chair:	Vicente Garrido Rebolledo, Director, International Affairs and Foreign Policy	Exploration	
	Institute (INCIPE)		
	Justine Walker, Director, Financial Crime, Sanctions and Bribery, British Bankers'		
	Association		
	Jacek Durkalec, Analyst, Polish Institute of International Affairs		
	Aaron Dunne, Senior Researcher, SIPRI		

15:45 – 16:15	Refreshment Break	Breakout Lobby
		Area

Simultane	ous Special Sessions (Second Sitting): 16:15 – 17:45	
Session 4:	NUCLEAR SECURITY	Evasion /
Chair:	Ian Anthony , Research Coordinator and Director, Programme on Arms Control, Disarmament and Non-Proliferation, SIPRI; Vice Chair, EU Non-Proliferation Consortium	Innovation
	Anita Nilsson, Executive Director, AN & Associates LLC	
	Lars-Erik Lundin, Former European Union Ambassador to Vienna	
	Willem Janssens , Head of Unit, Nuclear Security, European Commission Joint Research Centre	
Session 5:	CONVENTIONAL ARMS TRADE AND TRAFFICKING	Harmony
Chair:	Cédric Poitevin, Head of Arms Transfer and Small Arms Project, Group for Research and Information on Peace and Security (GRIP)	
	Elli Kytomaki, Project Manager, United Nations Institute for Disarmament Research Hugh Griffiths, Senior Researcher, SIPRI	
	Tomas Baum, Director, Flemish Peace Institute	
Session 6:	PROLIFERATION CASE STUDIES: NORTH KOREA, PAKISTAN, SYRIA	Creativity /
Chair:	Andreas Persbo, Executive Director, Verification Research Training and	Exploration
	Information Centre (VERTIC)	
	Bruno Tertrais, Senior Research Fellow, FRS	
	Joachim Krause, Director, Institute for Security Policy, University of Kiel	
	Emile Hokayem, Senior Fellow for Regional Security, IISS-Middle East	

18:30 – 19:00	Reception	Palace Ballroom
		Lobby
19:00 – 22:00	Conference Dinner	Palace Ballroom
	Keynote Speaker: Hans Blix, Director General Emeritus, International Atomic	
	Agency (IAEA)	

SATURDAY 4 FEBRUARY 2012

Time	Session	Location
09:00 - 10:15	SECOND PLENARY SESSION: NON-PROLIFERATION AND SECURITY IN	Palace Ballroom
	THE MIDDLE EAST	
	Chair: Camille Grand, Director, FRS; Chair, EU Non-Proliferation Consortium	
	HRH Prince Turki Al Faisal Bin Abdulaziz Al Saud, Chairman of the Board,	
	King Faisal Center for Research and Islamic Studies	
	Bernd Kubbig, Project Director, Coordinator of the Academic Peace Orchestra	
	Middle East, PRIF	
	Sameh Aboul-Enein, Deputy Assistant Foreign Minister, Egypt; Assistant	
	Professor for Disarmament and Security Studies, The American University in	
	Cairo	
	Ariel Levite, Nonresident Senior Associate, Carnegie Endowment for	
	International Peace	

Time	Session	Location
10:15 - 11:30	THIRD PLENARY SESSION: EU NON-PROLIFERATION POLICY AND	Palace Ballroom
	IMPLEMENTATION	
	Chair: Peter van Ham, Senior Research Fellow, Netherlands Institute of	
	International Relations "Clingendael"	
	Annalisa Giannella, Former Director for Non-Proliferation and Disarmament, EEAS	
	Francois Rivasseau Deputy Head of Delegation, Delegation of the European	
	Union to the United States	
	Werner Bauwens, Special Envoy for Disarmament and Non-Proliferation,	
	Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Belgium	
		I

11:30 – 12:00	Refreshment Break	Palace Ballroom
		Lobby
12:00 - 13:15	FOURTH PLENARY SESSION: IRANIAN NUCLEAR ISSUE	Palace Ballroom
	Chair: Mark Fitzpatrick, Director, Non-Proliferation and Disarmament	
	Programme, IISS; Vice Chair, EU Non-Proliferation Consortium	
	Pierre Goldschmidt, Nonresident Senior Associate, Nuclear Policy Program,	
	Carnegie Endowment for International Peace	
	Maurizio Martellini, Secretary General, Landau Network-Centro Volta	
	Erzsébet N Rózsa, Executive Director, Hungarian Institute of International Affairs	
13:15 – 13:30	CLOSING COMMENTS:	Palace Ballroom
	Mara Marinaki, Managing Director for Global and Multilateral Issues, EEAS	

13:30 - 14:30	Lunch	Restaurant
		Nouveau Taste

CONFERENCE CLOSE