Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Fifth Consultative Meeting of the EU Non-Proliferation Consortium

7 October 2016 - 8 October 2016


Thursday 7 July 2016

Welcome and introduction
09:00 – 10:00 Registration and welcome breakfast
10:00 – 10:15 Welcome and introduction to the meeting
Giorgio Franceschini, Peace Research Institute Frankfurt
Joëlle Jenny, European External Action Service
Session 1: Preventing CBRN Terrorism
10:15 – 11:45 EU support for preventing proliferation and use of biological, chemical, radiological and nuclear weapons, including by non-state actors 
Chair: Bruno Dupré, European External Action Service
Speaker (Chem.): Dimitris Iliopoulos, European External Action Service (download the presentation)
Speaker (Bio): Richard Guthrie, CBW Events
Speaker (Radiological / Nuclear): Matthew Cottee, International Institute for Strategic Studies
Discussant: Nomi Bar-Yaacov, Chatham House
11:45 – 12:45 A mid-term assessment of the Comprehensive Review of UNSCR 1540 Implementation: Implications and Options for the EU
Chair: Vicente Garrido Rebolledo, INCIPE
Speaker: Scott Spence, VERTIC (download the presentation)
Speaker: Sibylle Bauer, Stockholm International Peace Research Institute
12:45 – 14:15 Lunch
Session 2: Arms export control
14:15 – 15:00 The way ahead for the ATT
Chair: Pierre-Arnaud Lotton, European External Action Service
Speaker: Elli Kytömäki, Chatham House (download the presentation)
Speaker: Michael Brzoska, Institute for Peace Research and Security Policy at the University of Hamburg (download the presentation)
15:00 – 15:45 Increasing accountability: end-user control and identification of diversion
Chair: Frank Meeussen, European External Action Service
Speaker: Paul Holtom, Coventry University (download the presentation)
Speaker: Sarah Parker, Small Arms Survey
15:45 – 16:15 Coffee break
Session 3: Non-proliferation diplomacy and sanctions
16:15 – 17:30 Assessing the High Level Review of United Nations Sanctions: What way forward for EU non-proliferation sanctions?
Chair: Teresa Archer Pratas, European External Action Service
Speaker: Per Saland, Former Sanctions Coordinator, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Sweden
Speaker: Clara Portela, Singapore Management University (download the presentation)


Friday 8 July 2016

Session 4: EU Non-proliferation and Disarmament Policy
09:00 – 10:00 EU priorities for and contribution to the 2016 BTWC Review Conference
Chair: Emil Kazakov, European External Action Service
Speaker: James Revill, University of Sussex (download the presentation)
Speaker: Kathryn Millett, Biosecure
10:00 – 11:00 Recent developments in the field of nuclear disarmament
Chair: Judit Körömi, European External Action Service
Speaker: Jenny Nielsen, Vienna Center for Disarmament and Non-Proliferation (download the presentation)
Speaker: Oliver Meier, Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik
11:00 – 11:30 Coffee break
11:30 – 13:00 The EU role in non-proliferation diplomacy with Iran and the DPRK
Chair: Benjamin Hautecouverture, Fondation pour la recherche stratégique
Speakers (Iran): Annika Weidemann, European External Action Service Iran Task Force and Tarja Cronberg, Stockholm International Peace Research Institute
Speaker (DPRK): Andrea Berger, Royal United Services Institute
13:00 – 13:15 Closing of the meeting 
Jacek Bylica, European External Action Service
Giorgio Franceschini, Peace Research Institute Frankfurt



7 October 2016
8 October 2016
Event Category:


Conference Centre Albert Borschette (CCAB)
36 rue Froissart
Brussels, B- 1040

Write a Reply or Comment