Asian Regional Webinar

On 18 December 2020, FRS teamed up with UNRCPD to organise a virtual event dedicated to enhancing understanding on the HCoC with a number of Asian States.

13:00 NPT / 7:15 GMT – Presentation and scope of the project

  • Yuriy KRYVONOS, Director, UNRCPD (remarks read by Steven Humphries)
  • Alexandre HOUDAYER, Secretary General, FRS
  • Georgios KRITIKOS, EEAS, Deputy Head of Division, Disarmament, Non-proliferation and Arms Export Control, European External Action Service, European Union

13:30 NPT / 7:45 GMT – Keynote Introduction: Missile proliferation: a global challenge

  • Benjamin HAUTECOUVERTURE, Senior Research Fellow, FRS

14:15 NPT / 8:30 GMT – The Hague Code of Conduct (HCoC): a multilateral instrument to curb the proliferation of missiles

MODERATOR: Alexandre HOUDAYER, Secretary General, FRS

PRESENTERS:

  • Benno LAGGNER, Resident Representative to the IAEA, Permanent Representative to the CTBTO PrepCom, Permanent Mission of Switzerland, Vienna, Austria, HCoC Chair 2020-2021
  • George-Wilhelm GALLHOFER, Minister, Representative of the HCoC Immediate Central Contact (ICC), Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Austria
  • Emmanuelle MAITRE, Research Fellow, FRS
  • Steven HUMPHRIES, UNSCR-1540 Project Coordinator, UNRCPD

KEY ISSUES:

  • Contribution of the Code to international security
  • Being a Subscribing State: commitments and benefits
  • Day-to-day implementation of the Code
  • What opportunities in joining the Code? What constraints?
  • Q&A and debate